Shopping for Pasalubong. An Amateur Balikbayani’s Guide

IMG_6434

Pocky Pretzels from Japan

It’s less than 3 weeks before my flight to manila. I will be making a quick stop over in Tokyo and I plan to do a mini Blog about the wonderful airport facility there.

Lately I have been massively broke yet bombarded by request from friends and family for pasalubongs- Tagalog term for gifts.

Good thing we have the Marukai stores in San Diego, several branches of Japanese themed home stores and groceries with affordable and high quality gift items I can send back home.

I already bought some sake and tea spices for friends and family especially Roasted Buckwheat Tea.  I’m saving up for some Japanese KitKats and Oreos.

I did a quick video of the Marukai Market Stores that can give you some ideas on where to shop for Japanese Spices and Ramen so you can make one at home, also those awesome home tools that only Japan can think of.

This is really one of my favorite stores to shop and I bought some great home organizers already at their home and office supply section.

 

Leave a Reply

